Gerber, Maynard, Neuberg elected AAAS Fellows

Two young women performing scientific experiment on a lab

Five outstanding Arizona State University faculty spanning the physical sciences, psychological sciences and science policy have been named as Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

Sustainability scientists Leah Gerber, Andrew Maynard and Steven Neuberg join Ying-Cheng Lai and John McCutcheon; all are being honored for their career contributions to science, innovation or socially distinguished efforts to advance science and its applications.

The AAAS, publisher of the journal Science, is the world’s largest general scientific society. Election as a fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers. Within that general framework, each awardee is honored for contributions to a specific field.

The five new ASU faculty members’ election this year brings the total number of AAAS Fellows affiliated with ASU to 86. There are 489 newly elected AAAS Fellows this year.

Read the ASU Now story to learn about the ASU AAAS 2020 Fellows’ individual scientific achievements.